IPL 2023 Prize Money breakdown [Champion will receive 20 Crore INR]

By | March 10, 2023

IPL 2023 Prize Money breakdown [Champion will receive 20 Crore INR]: a Largest short form of domestic cricket Indian Premier League or IPL is about to start again and this time, it will be the 10th season of IPL which will start in 26th March 2023. This professional T20 league cricket competition was established by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007 and the first tournament was held in 2008. It is regarded as the most popular T20 competition in the world and in every field, IPL is still ahead of the rest T20 competitions in the world. However, 10th season of IPL is also known as TATA IPL 10 due to sponsoring by TATA and it would be more exciting than previous seasons, according to BCCI.

IPL 10 prize money

IPL is getting more popular due to the reason of huge prize money. Every season of IPL, the winning teams, as well as runner-up, third place and fourth place teams, used to be awarded as a large amount of money which encourage players to participate in this tournament. Through IPL, a player can earn more money than any domestic league in every calendar year. And in every year, the amount of Prize money used to increase. However, in last season of this most popular tournament, around 47 crore INR was budget for the teams to be given where the winning team Sunrisers Hyderabad claimed almost 20 crore INR as the champion. The amount would be somewhat increased in next season. Though, the official announcement of the upcoming season of IPK prize money is still unveiled. But according to last few years increasing rate, here we present an approximate prize money below which will be updated when the official announcement will make.

# TATA IPL 2023 Prize Money

Awards Amount (estimated)
Champion ₹20,00,00,000
Runners up ₹13,00,00,000
Losing Qualifiers (3rd) ₹7,0000,000
Losing Qualifiers (4th) ₹6,50,00,000
Super Striker of the season ₹15,000,00
Crack it sixes of the season ₹12,00,000
Power player of the season ₹12,00,000
Most valuable player ₹12,00,000
Game changer of the season ₹12,00,000
Emerging player ₹20,00,000
Purple Cap winner ₹15,00,000
Orange cap winner ₹15,00,000
  • Winner – 20 Crore INR
  • 1st Runner Up – 13 Crore INR
  • 2nd Runner Up – 7 Crore INR
  • Fourth Place – 6.5 Crore INR

According to the above statistics, that is not just our prediction rate but also some news portal as well has published that amount of prize money where winner of the upcoming IPL 2017 will get almost 21 crore Indian Rupee (INR) and runner up get 12 crore INR. 3rd and 4th place holders will get the same amount 8 crore INR. In 2015, the winner received almost 15 crore INR  ut in next edition, the amount was increased to 20 crore INR. But runner up in 2015 got 10 crore where in 2016 runner up got 11 crore INR. Here we present the last two years prize money list below.

# Last Two Years Prize Money:

SL No. Position IPL 2015 IPL 2016
1. Winner 15 Crore INR 20 Crore INR
2. Runner Up 10 Crore INR 11 Crore INR
3. Third Place 7.5 Crore INR 7.5 Crore INR
4. Fourth Place 7.5 Crore INR 7.5 Crore INR

However, by analyzing all possibilities, in 10th season of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017, the total prize money would probably increased almost 3 crore INR from last episode which is still expected.

Most of the IPL revenue used to come from the global TV rights agreement and the sponsorship deal which is almost similar to the English Premier League.

IPL 2023 Prize Money

However, as stated by the BCCI rules, every prize money amount used to be divided into two equal half between players and franchise. So, if SRH will win the 10th edition of IPL, they could grab 21 crore INR where will go to the players and rest will go to the franchise.

The prize money for the Indian Premier League (IPL) varies from year to year and is announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) shortly before the start of the tournament. As of my knowledge cutoff date in 2021, the prize money for the upcoming IPL seasons has not been announced yet.

However, historically, the IPL prize money has been in the range of several crores of Indian rupees. The winning team of the IPL tournament receives the largest share of the prize money, followed by the runners-up and the other teams in the tournament.

In IPL 2020, the winning team Mumbai Indians received a prize money of Rs. 20 Crores, while the runners-up Delhi Capitals received Rs. 12.5 Crores. The third and fourth-placed teams, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore, respectively, received Rs. 8.75 Crores each. Additionally, several individual awards are also given out, such as the Most Valuable Player (MVP), Orange Cap (most runs), and Purple Cap (most wickets), each with their own prize money.

It is likely that the prize money for IPL 2023 will be similar in structure and scale to the previous years’ IPL seasons.