IPL Purple Cap Holder 2018: Highest Wicket Takers

By | March 23, 2018

IPL Purple Cap Holder 2018: Highest wicket takers- In the T20 form of cricket, the bowlers seem to be at the very precarious position. In fact, this format of cricket happens to be the batsmen’s paradise. The bowlers in the T20 format of cricket may not always have the best of times, but it certainly does not means that they become completely out of the scene, reducing to insignificant if pitted against the batsman.

IPL Purple Cap Holder 2018

VIVO IPL T20 2018 Purple Cap Holder

Pos Player Matches Wickets
1 Siddarth Kaul 8 11
2 Trent Boult 7 11
3 Rashid Khan 8 10
* Updated till the last completed match


In the last seasons of the IPL, we have seen enough evidence of the dominance of the bowler. No doubt, this format of cricket gives the batsmen opportunity to pile on the runs, but it is also equally true that good number of bowler, in the 8 seasons that have already been played, have been able to pick up wickets in heaps and played a pivotal role for the success of their respective teams.

Also Check Here: IPL Orange Cap Holder

IPL Purple Cap Holder

IPL Purple Cap Holder

There are the provisions of the cap as an award for the top performance in the Indian premier League. Awards are given to the highest run scorers as well as the most wicket takers in a particular season. There are two types of caps that are awarded to the players of the t20 game. One is IPL Orange Cap Award and second is IPL Purple Cap Award. The Orange Cap Award is provided to the highest run-scorer in the Indian Premier League, whereas the IPL Purple Cap Award is provided to the bowlers who bag the most wickets in a season. All bowlers who want to make their presence felt in a batsmen-dominated T20 game, want to be IPL Purple Cap Holder 2018. It is partly because they want to prove themselves as established bowlers and partly because they want to enlighten the cricket fans across the globe that in T20 cricket there are lots that the bowlers can achieve.

IPL – Indian Premier League Purple Cap Previous Year Winners

Season Player Matches Wickets
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 14 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 17 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 16 24
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK) 16 23
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32
2012 Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC) 16 21
2009 R. P. Singh (DC) 16 23
2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR) 11 22

IPL Purple Cap Holder

Top IPL Purple Cap Holder in 2018

Whenever the names of the top purple card holders in IPL come in, the Indian bowlers seem to rule the roost. It is simply because there are some Indian bowlers who are among the top purple card holders in IPL. In addition to RP Singht, the two other Indians who have won the purple card are the left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and the medium-pacer Mohit Sharma. In the year 2010, Ojha while playing for the Deccan Charges took 21 wickets while Mohit Mohit took 23 wickets in the 2014 IPL while playing for the Chennai Super Kings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shane Watson occupy the first and second position respectively with 21 and 20 wickets respectively.

Top Purple Card Holders in IPL 2018

The IPL 2018 is not very far off. All the fans of the Indian Premier League have started counting their days for the IPL 2018. If you are among those who want to know about the top purple card holders in IPL 2018, all that you need to do is to stay hooked to our website. Just like 2016 IPL, we will be updating you with all the Purple Card Holders for the ongoing season as well.